Log in


Company overview

The Australian Plants Society NSW Ltd (ABN 87 002 680 408) is a company limited by guarantee. It is a non-profit, independent, incorporated community organisation registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission.

ACNC Certification of APS NSW as a Registered Charity

A summary of our objectives are:

  • Promote the appreciation, study and participation in growing, conserving and propagating Australian native plants and their habitats
  • Encourage the use of Australian native plants in home gardens and public places.
  • Interest nursery owners and managers to propagate and Australian native plants to the public.
  • Increase and disseminate general knowledge of Australian native plants.

Our Memorandum and Articles of Association are located here: 

APS NSW Memorandum and Articles of Association, 18 April 2018

Board members and Officers

The Australian Plants Society NSW Ltd is overseen by a board comprising appointed members and delegates of our local District Groups.

Our current board comprises:

John Aitken, President John has had a passion for Australian native plants for over 40 years. He has held positions as a science teacher, virologist, and barrister. He is former president of Sutherland group a director of APS NSW since February 2007, has served as president of APS NSW and delegate to ANPSA. Qualifications: BSc (Hons) Microbiology, Graduate Dip Education
Harry Loots, Treasurer and delegate for Northern Beaches group Harry has been a member of the Australian Plants Society since 1991 when he joined the Harbourside group where he was group president from 1994 until its closure in 2010 and its newsletter editor from 2006 to 2009.  Since 2011, he has been member and APS (NSW) delegate for the Northern Beaches group. He has been a member of the Special Projects Committee (Bequest Fund) from 2000.  Harry has also been an Australian plant grower for the last 28 years with an award winning endemic plant garden in North Sydney.  He has been an active bushwalker for most of his life. Harry was vice president of APS (NSW) between 2009 and 2013 and had a day job as a High School teacher.
Tony Maxwell, delegate for Parramatta and Hills group Tony is a retired paint chemist and a member of Parramatta and Hills group since 2006, holding roles as vice president and president. He became Parramatta and Hills group delegate to the Board in 2011. Tony’s interest is the distribution of native plants in southeast Australia.
Heather Miles, Secretary and delegate for Hunter Valley group Heather is a member of the Hunter Valley and North Shore groups and is director and secretary of APS NSW. She has extensive experience as a director, executive and consultant across multiple industry sectors. BSc, MBA, Dip Landscape Design, GAICD.
Roger Starling, delegate for North Shore groupRoger spent his early life in the UK, followed by several years in pharmaceutical sales and subsequently in other sales positions. He is a qualified horticulturalist having a Certificate 3 in Horticulture and completed the Diploma in Horticulture. He was actively involved with HG Kershaw Pty Ltd Seedsmen. Roger has been a director of APS NSW since 2005.
Merle K Thompson, Membership officer and delegate for Central West group Merle has extensive experience in counselling, administration, policy and training in vocational guidance and educational fields. Previous roles in the Australian Plants Society include federal roles as secretary and treasurer, property officer and program convenor for APS NSW, secretary and president of Blue Mountains group, NSW delegate to ANPSA conferences and the ANPSA council, tour manager for the 2007 conference.

Graham Fry, delegate for East Hills group

Graham has been a member of the East Hills Group for many years and is its current president. He has a strong interest natural history and has been an active bird bander for 35 years with projects at Munghorn Gap near Mudgee and Warraderry State Forest near Grenfell. He is a retired electrical engineer with a particular interest in energy efficiency. Graham joined the Board in late December 2017. Graham joined the Board in late December 2017. He is President of the East Hills group.  

Office bearers:

Editors Australian Plants

John Aitken and Merle Thompson

Editors Native Plants for NSW

David Crawford

Conservation Officer

Dan Clarke provides consulting advice and services to a wide range of businesses in bushland regeneration and restoration, and ecological education and training in conservation and land management. B.Sc. First class Hons (Botany), Cert IV in General Horticulture, Cert II in Bushland Regeneration.
Study Group Liaison Officer Vacant
Website Manager Heather Miles

Australian Plants Society NSW Representatives to external bodies:

ANPSA Council

John Aitken

Australian Flora Foundation

Ross Smyth-Kirk

Burrendong Arboretum

 Lyn Burgett
Native Flower Growers and Promoters Jonathan Steeds
Nature Conservation Council Margery Street

Annual Reports


P.O. Box 263
Cremorne  Junction NSW 2090

Contact us here

Membership: merleaps@bigpond.

Copyright © 2017 The Australian Plants Society - NSW. All Rights Reserved  •  Site by

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software